IB Diploma Overview

In Years 12 and 13 at Nexus, learners follow the Diploma programme. The International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP) is a two-year educational programme primarily aimed at students aged 16–19. The program is one that provides an internationally accepted qualification for entry into higher education, and is accepted by many universities worldwide. 
IBDP students complete assessments in six subjects from the six different subject groups, and complete three core requirements. 

Our IB Diploma programme has 6 difference subject groups and three core requirements.
Subjects are assessed using both internal and external assessments, and courses finish with an externally assessed series of examinations, usually consisting of two or three timed written examinations. Internal assessment varies by subject (there may be oral presentations, practical work, or written works) and in most cases is initially graded by the classroom teacher, whose grades are then verified or modified, as necessary, by an appointed, external moderator.

Nexus learners follow the HL courses across all subjects until Nov of Year 12 when they are then guided to make the most appropriate choices depending on their progress and strengths.

Learners who do not wish to study the Full Diploma can opt to take the Partial Diploma (individual Certificates) Taking IB Certificates is similar to taking AP courses


  1. The Extended Essay
    Encourages independent research skills.
    This is an original piece of research of up to 4,000 words and learners can investigate a topic of their own interest.
  2. Creativity, Action and Service
    Encourages learners to be responsible and compassionate citizens.
    It can include art activities, individual and team sports and services to the local community.
  3. Theory of Knowledge
    Explores the relationship between the various subjects.
    This part of the course makes learners reflect critically about knowledge gained both in and outside the classroom.